NL FR EN

History


FOUNDER-PRESIDENT OF SOROPTIMIST INTERNATIONAL

   

Violet RICHARDSON-WARD, founder member and first president of the Soroptimist International organization was born in Summit, New Jersey on August 27, 1888 and died at the age of 90 in Danville, California. She was the daughter of British immigrants who settled in the US in 1885. 

After completing, in 1916, her master degree in health and physical education, she started her teaching career being faced to the existing salary discrimination towards women. Equal pay for women became her first fight! 

Pioneer in physical culture she worked tirelessly all her life for people to understand the importance of health and physical education for young people, especially for young women.

In 1921, renowned for the work she accomplished, she was invited by Stuart Morrow (professional organizer of Rotary’s clubs) to join a new organization for women still under creation: an organization about service, about professional and businesswomen aiming to become an international organization: SOROPTIMIST meaning “the best for women”.  Violet Richardson was installed as the charter president of the first Soroptimist Club on October 3, 1921.

As president of Soroptimist club, she worked hard to form other Soroptimist clubs throughout California, the United States and Canada. Throughout her whole life she remained very active in multiple civic-activities and non-profit work which took her widely beyond her Soroptimist activities, standing up to protest inequalities or to implement her ideas.  Looking over her long life one could say that “she made a difference”…for young women.

 

Her work in Soroptimist is best summarized by the statement she made at the end of her presidency:

Let us continue the work together and with others, toward the development of a better womenhood, a better manhood and a better citizenship.”

(link to SI History...)

NL FR EN

Historique


PRESIDENTE-FONDATRICE DU SOROPTIMIST INTERNATIONAL 

Violet RICHARDSON-WARD, membre fondateur et première présidente de l'organisation Soroptimist International naquit à Summit, dans le New Jersey, le 27 Août, 1888 et décéda à l'âge de 90 à Danville, en Californie. Elle était la fille d'immigrants britanniques qui se sont installés aux États-Unis en 1885.

Après avoir obtenu, en 1916, une maîtrise en santé et en éducation physique, elle débuta sa carrière d'enseignante et fut immédiatement confrontée à la discrimination salariale existante envers les femmes. L'égalité de rémunération pour les femmes devint son premier combat!

Pionnière dans le domaine de l’éducation physique, elle  travailla sans relâche toute sa vie à faire comprendre au grand public, l’importance de la santé et de l'éducation physique pour les jeunes, en particulier pour les jeunes femmes.

En 1921, renommée pour le travail qu'elle accomplissait, elle fut invitée par Stuart Morrow (organisateur professionnel des clubs du Rotary) à se joindre à une nouvelle organisation pour femmes encore en cours de création: une organisation de service, composée de professionnels et de femmes d'affaires visant à devenir une organisation internationale: SOROPTIMIST signifiant "le meilleur pour les femmes". Violet Richardson fut élue présidente de ce premier Club Soroptimist  lors de la remise de charte, le 3 Octobre 1921.

En tant que présidente du Soroptimist, elle  travailla énormément à la formation d'autres clubs Soroptimist à travers la Californie, aux États-Unis et au Canada. Tout au long  de sa vie, elle resta très active dans de multiples activités civiques et de volontariat dépassant  largement le cadre de ses activités Soroptimist,  protestant contre les inégalités ou  mettant en œuvre ses idées. De sa longue vie, on pourrait dire qu'«elle a fait une différence" ... pour les jeunes femmes.

Son action Soroptimist est parfaitement résumée dans la déclaration qu'elle fit à la fin de sa présidence:

"Continuons à travailler, ensemble et avec d'autres, à l'élaboration d'un monde meilleur pour les  femmes, pour les hommes et à une meilleure citoyenneté."

( lien Histoire SI...)